Module 7: Social Learning

<;a href="https://jocellepgabriel.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/20121117-233443.jpg”>;20121117-233443.jpg

I think a teacher’s behavior and attitude in the classroom influences student’s behaviors and attitudes because a teacher’s approach to the class is part of the description of the class and the environment as a whole. Students always depend their behavior and attitude in the classroom depending on the teacher. I was a student too and I have observed how our class behaved differently when we know that our teacher is authoritative or permissive. After a lively lesson with a teacher we consider “kind or permissive”, the whole class behaves unusually. We all sit on our assigned seats. We prepare our books and assignments. We do everything to avoid provoking the anger of a “terror” teacher. We just fear committing errors for we are not sure how bad an authoritative teacher is going to react to it.

20121117-233219.jpg

One particular behavior that I think is most important for learners to acquire in a distance learning environment is responsible independence. In this unconventional learning setup, learning and knowledge acquisition is all up to us. We can choose to read or not, participate or not, and comply or not everything lies on our decision. As participant in the class, I think social persuasion helps a lot in motivating classmates. And social persuasion can be in a form of comments, commendations, agreement or disagreement, and exchange of opinions in forums. Personally, it encourages me when my classmates react to my posts, ask me questions, agree to my opinion, and the like. At least, one feels that his or her opinion matters and is worth reading.

Leave a comment